What are the steps of Ignatian Spirituality?

What are the aspects of Ignatian Spirituality?

Ignatian Spirituality is marked by having the insight, desire and ability to find God in all things. The characteristics of Ignatian Spirituality are fourfold, based on key movements of the Spiritual Exercises: It presents a vision of life based on the First Principle and Foundation.

What are the steps in examining one’s consciousness according to St Ignatius of Loyola?

I wish to propose a way of doing the examen, as an approach in five steps:

  1. Pray for light. …
  2. Review the day in thanksgiving. …
  3. Review the feelings that surface in the replay of the day. …
  4. Choose one of those feelings (positive or negative) and pray from it. …
  5. Look toward tomorrow.

How do you pray Ignatian Spirituality?

“Take, Lord, receive all my liberty, my memory, my understanding, my whole will, all that I have and all that I possess. You gave it all to me, Lord; I give it all back to you. Do with it as you will, according to your good pleasure.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  What college has a fox mascot?

What is the Ignatian approach?

The Ignatian pedagogical paradigm is a way of learning and a method of teaching taken from the Spiritual Exercises of Ignatius of Loyola. It is based in St. Ignatius Loyola’s Spiritual Exercises, and takes a holistic view of the world. The three main elements are Experience, Reflection, and Action.

What are the four pillars of Ignatian spirituality?

Ignatius of Loyola, this course explores the pillars of Ignatian spirituality including the Spiritual Exercises, prayer and contemplation, the Examen, and discernment.

What are the two major components of Ignatius spirituality?

Ignatius begins the Spiritual Exercises with two preliminary points. The first is the Presupposition of Charity, whereby a person assumes the best intentions behind another person’s statements. The second point is known as the First Principle and Foundation.

What is the purpose of a daily examen how is it done?

St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen is an opportunity for peaceful daily reflective prayer. It invites us to find the movement of God in all the people and events of our day. The Examen is simply a set of introspective prompts for you to follow or adapt to your own character and spirit.

What is the practice of examen?

The Ignatian Examen, or the Daily Examen, is a contemplative prayer led by memory. During an Examen, one reflects on the current day, focusing on memories from the events of the day as a way of recognizing God’s Divine Presence.

What is the Ignatian prayer?

Ignatian Contemplation is prayer with Scripture. It is meeting God through story. The prayer develops as you “live into” a Scripture story with all your senses and imagination. You become a participant in the story, and you continue in the story in your heart, mind, imagination, spirit and body after the reading ends.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: What does fall represent spiritually?

What is discernment in Ignatian Spirituality?

Pondering and noticing interior movements of attraction and heaviness are at the heart of Ignatian discernment. Discernment involves prayer and weighing facts and feelings about the several good choices which ultimately leads to a choice about what is the best fit for an individual.

What are the 7 steps of discernment?

There are seven steps of discernment to be followed that include identifying the issue, taking time to pray about the choice, making a wholehearted decision, discussing the choice with a mentor and then finally trusting the decision made.

What are the 3 steps of discernment?

What are the three steps of the discernment process? Awareness, Understanding, and Action.

How do you discern a decision?

To “discern” means to try to figure out what God wants us to do.


  1. We need to look at the decision prayerfully from all angles.
  2. We need to take time with the decision, be patient, trust the process, and ultimately trust that God will lead us to the right place if we do our part as best we can.